Costco is a popular shopping spot in the United States and Canada to stock up on bulk quantities of shelf stable goods, produce, and frozen items. Costco’s generic brand, Kirkland, has many alternatives that are an even better bargain but still pack in quality and/or taste. Kirkland has a longstanding reputation of creating great products, sometimes better than the “big brand.” So when it comes to the Kirkland’s Protein Bars, you may be curious about their hype but even more so if you are vegan, you may wonder if they are even vegan. Let’s find out…

Kirkland Protein Bar Ingredients

  • milk protein isolate
  • whey protein isolate
  • inulin
  • cashews
  • water
  • unsweetened chocolate
  • erythritol
  • cocoa powder
  • cocoa butter
  • natural flavors
  • sea salt
  • lecithin
  • stevia

So even without getting too far down into the ingredient list, we can see that Kirkland Protein Bars use two different milk derived proteins to create the base of the protein bars and are therefore not vegan unfortunately. However, there are a ton of other really great vegan protein bars out there, some of which we’ve reviewed on Vegan’s Pantry. Here are some of the most popular post’s – including some round up posts and also some deep dive review posts. Enjoy and I know you’ll be able to find a vegan protein bar that works for you. If you have any questions, comment below!

Other Posts You May Enjoy:

Low Sugar Vegan Protein Bars

Best Vegan High Protein Bars with 20 grams of Protein

Top 5 High Protein Vegan Protein Bars

Top 5 Vegan Meal Replacement Bars

PROBAR Base Bar with 20 grams of Protein

Square Organics Protein Bar Crisp

Clif Builders Bar 20gram Protein Vegan Bar

PowerBar Plant-Based Protein Bar


Are Kirkland Protein Bars Vegan?

One thought on “Are Kirkland Protein Bars Vegan?

  • March 5, 2022 at 7:02 am

    Can you recommend a high fiber dairy free protein bar? Kirkland are great for fiber but the dairy ingredients not so!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.