Are Corn Pops Vegan?

At first glance, it looks like Kellogg’s Corn Pops breakfast cereal is vegan as it does not contain any milk, milk products, or eggs (see ingredient list below). However, Vitamin D3 is added to the Kellogg’s Corn Pops. Vitamin D3 can be plant-based but oftentimes it is not including in this cereal. So unfortunately, Kellogg’s Corn Pops are not vegan. A good alternative is Arrowhead Mills Puffed Corn Cereal where the only ingredient is puffed corn! No additional sugars, salt, or preservatives. It’s not quite as crunchy as it doesn’t have a sugar coating, but if you’re looking for a corn based cereal that’s vegan, low sugar, and gluten-free, Arrowhead Mills Puffed Corn is a good option. 

Kellogg’s Corn Pops Ingredient List:

Milled Corn, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Contains 2% or Less Molasses, Salt, Vegetable Oil, Vitamin E, Annatto Color, Wheat Starch, and Vitamins and Minerals including Iron, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B2, Vitamin B1, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3, Vitamin B12.

Arrowhead Mills Puffed Corn Ingredient List:

Puffed Whole Corn

So as you can see, the second option certainly has a clean, minimal ingredient list and Arrowhead Mills Puffed Corn can be a good alternative although it won’t be quite like the sweeter, crunchier Kellogg’s Corn Pops which are unfortunately not vegan.

Are Corn Pops Vegan?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.