Are Cocoa Puffs Vegan?
At first glance, it looks like General Mills Cocoa Puffs breakfast cereal is vegan as it does not contain any milk, milk products, or eggs (see ingredient list below). However, Vitamin D3 is added to the General Mills Cocoa Puffs. Vitamin D3 can be plant-based but oftentimes it is not. That is the case here. Therefore, General Mills Cocoa Puffs are not vegan.
General Mills Cocoa Puffs Ingredient List:
Whole Grain Corn, Sugar, Corn Meal, Corn Syrup, Cocoa Processed with Alkali, Canola Oil, Fructose, Salt, Caramel Color, Refiner’s Syrup, Baking Soda, Natural Flavor.
Vitamins & Minerals Added:
Tricalcium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Zinc and Iron (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate), A B Vitamin (niacinamide), Vitamin B 6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), Vitamin A (palmitate), A B Vitamin (folic acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.
Was this news disappointing or relieving?? Let us know in the comments below! And remember, by the ingredients themselves without considering the fortification, General Mills Cocoa Puffs are vegan. It’s the vitamin fortification that turns them into a non-vegan food. So if you are predominately plant-based and want to avoid dairy in cereal, this would still be a suitable option but if you are 100% vegan, this is not the best choice.