Is Chex Mix Vegan?

Chex Mix is a cracker snack mix that includes the Chex Mex cereal as the main ingredient. There are 13 flavors of commercially prepared Chex Mix any many recipes online to create your own seasoned cracker snack mix combination. For today’s purpose, we will be looking at the commercially prepared Chex Mix.

If you’re wondering if the tried and true original Chex Mix is vegan…YES! The Traditional Chex Mix is vegan and does not contain any milk, dairy, or egg products. There is wheat and soy ingredients if that’s of any concern to you. Buy your Chex mix HERE and bring to your next vegan or non-vegan gathering – perfect for beach days or game nights with a mixed group!

The Traditional Chex Mix flavor is the only vegan flavor.

The following Chex Mix flavors are not vegan and do contain some kind of milk ingredient (whey or cheese):

  • Cheddar
  • Bold Party Mix
  • Hot and Spicy
  • Honey Nut
  • Turtle
  • Sour Cream and Onion
  • Ghost Pepper
  • Honey BBQ
  • Trail Mix Chex
  • Dark Chocolate Chex
  • Jalapeno Cheddar
  • Chex Mix Popped

If you’re wondering about the Chex Mix Muddie Buddies as well, Chex Mix Muddie Buddies are not vegan. All 3 flavors (Cookies and Cream, Peanut Butter and Chocolate, and Brownie Supreme) all contain milk ingredients.

So is Chex Mix vegan? Yes, but stick to the original as that’s the only vegan option available at time of post publication. So, go ahead and dive into your next bag of Chex Mix!

You may also enjoy the other posts in the “Is it Vegan?” section.
Is Chex Mix Vegan?

4 thoughts on “Is Chex Mix Vegan?

    • December 13, 2019 at 9:21 am
      Permalink

      Hi J – I don’t see anchovies on the ingredient list – is there something I’m missing?

      Reply
      • December 31, 2019 at 1:16 am
        Permalink

        If you make it at home it usually calls for Worcestershire sauce which is traditonallt made with anchovies, unless it’s the vegan kind. The distilled monoglycerides may or may not be vegan, depending on what the source is of the glycerol that they use to produce them. Same goes for diglycerides. Also, often the triglycerides that fo into making the monoglycerides are palm oil which a lot of vegans would avoid based on the environmental ramifications.

        Reply
        • January 15, 2020 at 11:25 am
          Permalink

          Good to know – thanks!

          Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.