Are Takis Vegan?
First of all, what are Takis? Takis are rolled corn tortilla chips from the Barcel USA company. Barcel USA is a division of Grupo Bimbo that produces many snacks that combine sweet and spicy and unique flavors to the snacking industry.
So are these rolled corn tortilla chips vegan??
The short answer is yes, it appears as though some Takis are vegan. Takis comes in five flavors including: Takis Fuego Tortilla Chips , Takis Nitro Tortilla Chips, Takis Crunchy Fajitas Tortilla Chips, Takis Guacamole Tortilla Chips, and Takis Wild Tortilla Chips.
The vegan flavors of Takis Tortilla Chips:
The non-vegan flavors of Takis Tortilla Chips:
- Takis Crunchy Fajitas Tortilla Chips (uses milk and egg in the flavoring)
- Takis Guacamole Tortilla Chips (contains milk)
- Takis Wild Tortilla Chips (contains milk and buttermilk)
The thing is, even in the vegan flavors of Takis Tortilla Chips, natural and artificial flavorings sometimes contain animal derived ingredients. Interestingly, the Takis Crunchy Fajitas flavor of tortilla chips does say after the natural and artificial flavorings that is where the milk and egg are contained. So one could reason that the other flavorings they use are not animal derived. Even so, plain tortilla chips are a much healthier option as Takis Tortilla Chips are a bit of a chemical storm and have a lot of additives and colorings that aren’t exactly the most wholesome ingredients. So if you’re a vegan who eats predominately plant-based whole foods, these would not be the snacking chip for you. If you are vegan and you enjoy the salty crunchy snack like a Doritos but you’re looking for a vegan option, two of the Takis flavors may be a good choice.