If Oreos are vegan, maybe other packaged cookies are accidentally vegan, right? It’s definitely a common thought that I hear a lot in the vegan community. One of the next cookies you may be wondering about are the iconic Famous Amos cookies with that cookie crunch and chocolate chip morsel. So, if you’re eating vegan or planning a gathering and you want vegan food there, let’s dive into this a little deeper…

Are Famous Amos Cookies Vegan?

Famous Amos Cookies are bite sized chocolate chips cookies that are not vegan. While there are vegan chocolate chips, most cookies contain eggs and milk ingredients. Let’s look at Famous Amos’ Ingredient List and see where the culprit is….

Enriched Flour, Semi-Sweet Chocolate (chocolate, sugar, dextrose, soy lecithin, natural flavors – vegan chocolate chips in the Famous Amos Cookies!), Sugar, Vegetable Oil, Molasses, Salt, Eggs, Baking Soda, Whey

So in this case, it’s the whey and eggs that make Famous Amos cookies not vegan.

Vegan Cookie Alternatives

However, if you are looking for a vegan chocolate chip cookie… I would recommend Simply Mills Crunchy Chocolate Chip Cookies or if you prefer the softer baked cookies, I would recommend that you try Enjoy Life Soft Baked Cookies! Either vegan cookie option is really really tasty and both are gluten-free, non-GMO. It depends on if you like the crunchy texture or the soft. It may also depend on your tolerance to nuts as the Simply Mills Crunchy Chocolate Chip Cookies use an almond, coconut, and flax seed base. Check them both out below for more information:

Simple Mills makes a crunchy vegan cookie that may help satisfy your packaged cookie cravings if you’re following a vegan diet as Famous Amos cookies are not vegan. These vegan cookies are also gluten-free and lower in added sugar than most packaged cookies.
Enjoy life makes many allergen free and dairy free foods including these soft baked mini cookies that would also be a good alternative to the Famous Amos cookies. These cookies are also gluten-free friendly (brown rice, sorghum, and buckwheat based).

 

Are Famous Amos Cookies Vegan?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.