If you’re curious about sweeteners and the vegan diet and vegan lifestyle, you may be wondering…is agave nectar or agave syrup vegan??
Is Agave Syrup Vegan? Is Agave Nectar Vegan?
The short answer is, yes. Pure agave nectar is 100% vegan made from the blue agave plant that grows in dry, desert like environments. The fluid is extracted from the plant and then filtered and heated to create a syrup, or sometimes referred to as agave nectar. Agave Syrup can be used in place of many sweeteners but does have a distinctive taste and I would recommend trying it out on a small cup of tea or baked good before piling it on high into dishes.
However, not all sweeteners are vegan. For example, sugar is oftentimes processed through bone char and would not be considered vegan. There are several brands that do not process their sugar through bone char including Bob’s Red Mill, Wholesome Sugars, and Florida Crystals Sugar. There are others, but these are just a few you can find that do not use bone char if you do not like the distinct taste of agave syrup.
Also, honey is of course made from the honey bee and many vegans opt out of eating honey as it does come from an animal. So, honey would be another non-vegan sweetener.
100% pure agave syrup is made simply from the agave plant and although it’s touted to have many health benefits, it’s about the same as sugar and should still be used moderately. If you like the taste of it, great – use it! If you don’t like the taste of this vegan sweetener – there are other sweeteners! My favorite vegan sweetener is 100% pure maple syrup. It’s warm, roasted tasting and has a deep sweetness to it. If you want to check out 100% vegan agave nectar, see some of your options HERE.