Are Vegan Products Kosher?

If you are Kosher, you may be wondering if all vegan products are Kosher and if you are vegan, you may be wondering if all vegan products are Kosher. Vegan products do not contain animal products or byproducts like milk, eggs, cheese or other derivatives. Kosher products prohibit mixing of milk and meat. Since there is no milk or meat in vegan meals, essentially all vegan products are Kosher and all Kosher products are vegan.

However, if you are of the Jewish religion, it depends on how closely you follow kashrut. Vegan food may fail to be 100% kosher if it was not prepared by Jewish people, or with non-Kosher equipment that would be shared with other milk/meat products during a different processing, or without what’s considered Kosher supervision. The big Kosher caveat is that because vegan food doesn’t have milk or meat, you don’t have to worry about these ever mixing these foods at the same meal or waiting in between meals because there aren’t any milk or meat products to begin with in vegan foods.

Just like some vegans will wear leather and some will completely follow and animal-free lifestyle, it depends on how strictly you keep Kosher when determining which vegan products you choose to consume. And vice versa, if you are a vegan, you may notice some foods being marked Kosher if they are prepared and follow the prescribed guidelines. If you are both vegan and Kosher, that is totally do able and easy enough to follow by simply knowing where you food comes from and where it was prepared.

Are Vegan Products Kosher?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.