Are Cocoa Pebbles Vegan? Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan?

If you’re following a vegan lifestyle, you may wonder if this childhood favorite cereal family is vegan. The quick answer is technically, yes – both Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles are vegan. What I mean by technically is here is the ingredient list:

Cocoa Pebbles Ingredient List:

RICE, SUGAR, HYDROGENATED VEGETABLE OIL (COCONUT AND PALM KERNEL OILS), COCOA (PROCESSED WITH ALKALI), SALT, CARAMEL COLOR, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR

Fruity Pebbles Ingredient List: 

RICE, SUGAR, HYDROGENATED VEGETABLE OIL (COCONUT AND PALM KERNEL OILS), SALT, CONTAINS LESS THAN 0.5% OF NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, RED 40, YELLOW 6, TURMERIC OLEORESIN (COLOR), BLUE 1, YELLOW 5, BLUE 2, BHA (TO HELP PROTECT FLAVOR)

So when you look at the ingredient list, you won’t see any animal products or by products. However, it’s important to note that natural and artificial flavors can be plant derived and/or animal derived and this information doesn’t have to be disclosed on the nutrition label and so it’s a bit of a …potentially and likely vegan but since it’s not clear from the manufacturer, Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles may not be vegan because of the processing of the artificial and natural flavors. So, if you are vegan for health, you won’t find any animal products here but if you’re vegan for other reasons, you may opt for a clearly vegan cereal like Barbaras, Nature’s Path, or another whole grain lightly sweetened cereal without a bunch of potentially non-vegan additives.

So, just to recap….cocoa pebbles and fruity pebbles are vegan based on the ingredient list. However, because we don’t know the source of the natural and artificial ingredients, these breakfast cereals may not be vegan and I would say go with what you feel most comfortable with!

 

Are Cocoa Pebbles Vegan? Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.