Are Black Beans Vegan?

Yes, black beans on their own are vegan as they are a plant-based legume.

However, if you’re buying canned commercially prepared black beans, some brands have seasonings that are animal derived.

If you are buying straight canned black beans, they are vegan and often only have water, black beans, and salt (or at least those are our favorite ones like 365 Black Beans and 365 No Added Salt Black Beans).

If you’re buying dried black beans, they are always 100% vegan. The only time they wouldn’t be is if they were a part of a soup that used animal stock or seasoning.

Hope that helps answer your question about if black beans are vegan. Check out our favorite vegan black bean options HERE. 

Are Black Beans Vegan?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.