Are Rice Krispies Vegan?
At first glance, it looks like Kelloggs Rice Krispie breakfast cereals are vegan as they do not contain any milk, milk products, or eggs (see ingredient list below). However, Vitamin D3 is added to the Kelloggs Rice Krispie Cereal. Vitamin D3 can be plant-based but oftentimes it is not. That is the case with Kelloggs Rice Krispie Cereals. Therefore, none of the Rice Krispie Cereals are vegan.
Kelloggs Rice Krispies Ingredient List:
Rice, sugar, contains 2% or less of salt, malt flavor.Vitamins and Minerals: Iron (ferric phosphate), niacinamide, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), folic acid, vitamin D3, vitamin B12.
The following varieties of Kellogg’s Rice Krispies contain animal sourced Vitamin D3 and are not vegan:
- Kelloggs Strawberry Krispies Cereal
- Kelloggs Rice Krispies Cereal
- Kelloggs Cocoa Krispies Cereal
- Kelloggs Frosted Krispies Cereal
- Kelloggs Rice Krispies Treats Cereal
Was this news disappointing or relieving?? Let us know in the comments below! And remember, by the ingredients themselves without considering the fortification, Rice Krispies are vegan. It’s the vitamin fortification that turns them into a non-vegan food.