Is Tempeh Vegan?
Yes! Tempeh is vegan. Tempeh is made from fermented soy beans – and sometimes fermented grains and is 100% vegan. Tempeh originated in Indonesia where it is still widely consumed (but spelled tempe). You can also find soy free tempeh varieties that are made from hemp seeds primarily. Tempeh is rich in plant-based protein with about 15 grams of plant-based protein per serving. Check out some great tempeh options HERE.