Special K makes many cereal varieties and has branched into cereal bars and liquid protein drinks. With such an extensive product line readily available…you may be wondering…is Special K Vegan?

Is Special K Vegan?

Yes and No. The Original Special K cereal does not contain any direct animal ingredients in the cereal itself. However, Vitamin D3 is added to the Original Special K and most often, Vitamin D3 is animal derived, particularly if cost is a consideration in product creation. All of the Special K varieties including the Special K Original, Special K Banana, Special K Fruit and Yogurt (contains milk), Special K Red Berries, Special K Vanilla Almond, and Special K Cinnamon and Pecan contain Vitamin D3 and are very likely not 100% vegan. If you are simply looking at the cereal base ingredients, the majority of the Special K varieties contain only plant-based ingredients (excluding the Special K Fruit and Yogurt).

So, if you are looking for a 100% vegan product, Special K cereals are not it. However, if you are looking for a mostly plant-based product without dairy, Special K cereals cross off the boxes.

Is Special K Vegan?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.