Are Vegan Foods Gluten Free?
No, not all vegan foods are gluten-free foods. Vegan foods do not contain any animal products or by products like milk, eggs, cheese, gelatin, or other animal proteins. Gluten-Free foods by contrast do not contain any gluten, or the protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and often oats. Oats and wheat are vegan products but not gluten-free. So you could have whole wheat pasta with red lentils and marinara sauce and it would be vegan but not gluten-free. Or you could have brown rice and quinoa pasta with red lentils and marinara and it would be both vegan and gluten-free. So many meals can be both but just because foods are vegan doesn’t mean they are gluten-free and just because some foods (like pasta) can be gluten-free, it doesn’t mean they are vegan as many gluten-free products include eggs. HERE are some vegan and gluten free foods for you to explore if you’re looking for both gluten-free and plant-based foods.
Are Vegans Gluten-Free?
Some vegans are also gluten-free but there are many people who are vegan and still regularly consume gluten. There are also many people who do not consume gluten but consume meat and other animal products and do not consider themselves vegan or vegetarian. So the answer is that it depends on the person as some vegans are gluten-free and some are not. 🙂