Sure, you can make your own vegan frosting but when it comes to those last minute cake bakes or if you’re wanting to dip vegan graham crackers in frosting for a treat, you might be asking yourself, what frosting brands are vegan?

Typically, conventional frosting includes butter and milk or milk and cream cheese. While these are traditionally dairy based, you can find vegan substitutes like Earth Balance for butter and Tofutti Cream Cheese that’s vegan. However, if you’re looking at store bought frostings, there are some vegan options (yay!).

Vegan Frosting Brands

Pillsbury – All 13 Flavors of Creamy Supreme Pillsbury Frosting, the Pastry Bag Pillsbury Frosting, and the Funfetti Pillsbury frostings are vegan– even the cream cheese, buttercream, and milk chocolate flavors! This is a little weird to be but all of the Pillsbury frostings use sugar, palm oil, and corn syrup as the base with various additives to still be vegan. Granted, some vegans option to avoid palm oil as it may not be sustainably sourced and may be reducing the rain forests but in terms of straight vegan and if you’re wondering if Pillsbury frostings are vegan, they¬† are indeed vegan and do not contain any animal product.¬†

Betty Crocker – Betty Crocker frostings are vegan except for the Rich and Creamy Coconut Pecan that includes milk. The other 9 flavors of the Rich and Creamy Betty Crocker Frostings, the Betty Crocker Whipped Frosting, and the Hershey’s Gluten Free Frosting from Betty Crocker are all vegan! Similarly to Pillsbury, this includes the buttercream and cream cheese flavors as they all use a sugar and palm oil base. The whipped Betty Crocker frostings use partially hydrogenated soybean and cottonseed oil to create more air but they are also still all vegan.

Duncan Hines – Most of the Duncan Hines Frostings are Vegan. The non-vegan flavors include: Duncan Hines Cream Cheese Whipped Frosting (but the Creamy Homestyle Cream Cheese is vegan), Milk Chocolate Creamy Homestyle Frosting, Chocolate Buttercream Creamy Homestyle Frosting (but the regular Buttercream Frosting is vegan). The other 12 varieties of both the Duncan Hines Creamy Homestyle and the Duncan Hines Whipped Frostings are vegan without animal products like butter, milk, or whey.

If you’re looking for a commercially prepared vegan frosting with cleaner, more natural ingredients, I’ve provided a few suggestions below…

Simple Mills Organic Frosting – Simple Mills Organic Frosting is vegan and comes in chocolate and vanilla with only 8 simple ingredients. The base is powdered sugar, coconut oil, and organic palm shortening that is from sustainably sourced palm oil.

Miss Jones Baking Organic FrostingThis organic vegan frosting comes in 4 flavors: vanilla, chocolate, confetti pop, and peppermint. With an ingredient list similar to the Simple Mills Organic Frosting, Miss Jones is organic and comes from sustainably sourced palm oil.

Wholesome Organic Frosting – Similar to the other organic options, Wholesome Organic Frosting is vegan and does not contain added flavors or any high fructose corn syrup and could be a good option for a vegan but more plant-based/cleaner ingredient list.

There you have it folks, six commercially prepared vegan frosting options. If you are going with one of the more traditional flavors (chocolate or vanilla), I would recommend opting for Simple Mills, Miss Jones, or the Wholesome Frosting over the Duncan Hines, Betty Crocker, and Pillsbury simply because the first 3 are organic and do not contain added flavors or colorings. If you’re looking for a vegan frosting with a more exciting flavor profile aside from chocolate or vanilla, you will more than likely have to go with a more conventional commercially prepared frosting.


6 Vegan Frosting Brands – Is Pillsbury Frosting Vegan? Is Betty Crocker Frosting Vegan?

5 thoughts on “6 Vegan Frosting Brands – Is Pillsbury Frosting Vegan? Is Betty Crocker Frosting Vegan?

  • November 11, 2019 at 9:20 pm

    Take the palm oil out

    • December 13, 2019 at 9:21 am

      That would be nice if more frostings offered palm free options.

  • January 25, 2020 at 1:05 am

    While the Pillsbury Funfetti frosting is vegan, the sprinkles are not. The sprinkles contain Confectioners Glaze which is made from bug secretions.

    • March 15, 2020 at 9:32 am

      Hmmm….that’s a new one for me.

    • April 11, 2020 at 1:51 pm

      Bug secretions?! GROSS!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.